Officially Lovely

In my absence I have been nominated for not one, not three, but TWO WordPress blogging awards. Obviously it’s an honour, but I wish I hadn’t already squandered such a stonewall belter of a title as ‘The Award‘ in a previous post that was mainly about design and being lonely.

I have been nominated twice for the same award; the Lovely Blog Award, which can only mean I am especially lovely. I mustn’t let this accolade go to my head, but I am Officially Lovely now, and you can’t take that away from me.

Thank the person/people who nominated you and link back to them in your post.
Share seven possibly unknown things about yourself.
Nominate fifteen or so bloggers you admire.
Contact the chosen bloggers to let them know and link back to them.

My thanks go to the irrepressibly wonderful Dating Bitch, or as she’s now known, Another Rolling Stone, who has had a hell of a time of it and is well-deserving of your love, and the fantastic Teala Mangano, whose witty insights into her year of singledom are at once hilariously sitcom worthy and a damning report on just how pathetic men are as a gender. Sorry ladies, I’d like to say that we aren’t all that bad, but we are. Thank god you love us anyway.

In fact, Teala nominated not just me, but the entirety of Britain. This is the first time I’ve ever been asked to represent my country, and whilst it is another honour, I will surely never be asked to again. On behalf of Britain, I will supply the seven obligatory little-known facts as necessitated by any recipient of the Lovely Blog Award:

1. The stereotypical Brit differs from country to country. Americans may like to think of us as a foppish, well spoken chaps, perhaps with monocles and fine moustaches, always up for a spot of rugger or cream teas and cucumber sandwiches at the cricket pavilion. Europeans know us as loutish, alcohol sodden xenophobes, exporting ignorance and bad sportsmanship to anywhere a cheap package deal flight will take us, and calling it ‘Britishness’. INGERLUUUUND.

Sadly, both stereotypes are true to an extent, although the majority of the populace are neither. Our Prime Minister comes from an incredibly privileged background and – I cannot stress this enough – does not represent in any way a good 90% of the population. He has had every advantage from birth, and was bred for power, and still couldn’t win full control of the government. (Our voting system is ridiculous).

On the other end of the social ladder, our football hooligans are world-renowned. Whilst some are born with status, and others earn it through achieving stuff, glory can be obtained vicariously through ‘sport’, or to give it its full title, ‘drinking heavily, wearing a coloured shirt and abusing and fighting people who wear a different coloured shirt, regardless of how well come overpaid men kick a ball around for an hour and a half.’ There’s a reason why Europe hates us, and I can’t help but feel it’s got something to do with our readiness to divide the continent geographically and then get our statistically most racist citizens to shout at each other. No wonder we never win Eurovision.

2. On that note, drinking age here is 18. In America, you’re actually have made reasoned decisions by the time you taste alcohol, and in many European countries they drink throughout their teens, but here in the UK it’s just the right amount of time for arrogant immaturity to dive smoothly into alcoholism, enabling the British to go forth and get merry, and make a fool of ourselves on the international stage. We let the country down, we let the Queen down, and most importantly, we let ourselves down. Maybe we’re trying to drown the memories of our once great empire…

3. Not everyone from Britain knows the Queen. Whenever a Brit goes to America, they tell the same story of how they were asked if they know the Queen. They always recount the question in a stupid sounding valley-girl accent, which I know is about as accurate a stereotype as all Brits knowing the Queen, and doesn’t do either populace any favours. Could the one Californian bint who keeps asking if we all know the Queen please pack it in, as she’s giving you all a bad rep. I assume you all know her.

4. The reason Brits are perceived to have bad dental hygiene is because most of our healthcare is on the NHS (National Health Service) and is hence free. (Or paid for indirectly via taxes.) Our dental stuff is paid for by us though, which means there’s a subconscious division of values. In the States, everything costs you, so it all gets paid for in equal measure, but here, a broken arm is financially less of a problem than off-white teeth. Please try to hide your disgust when we smile at you or else we shan’t want to smile for you at all.

5. Our finest export is our wit. You’re welcome.

6. Not all Brits drink tea, but those that do drink enough of it to perpetuate the stereotype.

7. Contrary to what our exported entertainment may lead you to believe, the British public does actually have taste. Whilst we currently can only offer you One Direction, Jedward and Piers Morgan, please don’t forget that we once produced such talent as The Beatles, The Smiths, The Who, The Rolling Stones, Elton John, The Office (U.K.) and Hugh ‘Dr. House’ Laurie. I cannot apologise enough.


In accordance with the other set of seven facts as denoted by my other award, I will also be happy to answer the first seven questions posted in comments, although I reserve the right to deftly avoid awkward or compromising details.


It simply remains to nominate fifteen (fifteen!?) bloggers what I like, so here’s that;

Lux’s Love Letters Are Dying – Lux’s blog itself is a great insight to the in-progress writer; book chapters and soliloquies sit easily alongside testing and tinkering with the written word, and it’s her evocative smut that the world should be going nuts over. She gets top billing, however, because her comments are always a welcome addition to anything I write.

Carly Beth’s Cloud – As bloggers go, Carly Beth is easily one of the most fascinating. It takes a certain type of person to live their life so openly, (I couldn’t do it, obviously) but few write it anywhere near as well. Carly’s pieces are so wonderfully satisfying, structurally; each post, whatever it explores, has a denouement where everything comes together. They’re funny, they’re poignant and they’re inspirational. Bravo.

Jane’s Wonderwimp – Jane is probably the most consistently hilarious blogger I’ve met. Her lists are a particular highlight, but what’s most endearing is the self-awareness and wicked sense of fun she’s built into her online persona. Always goes down easy.

Idiot-Prufs – This catalogue of lessons learned through idiocy is probably the nearest a blog gets to stand-up comedy. There’s a wicked sense of anarchic humour prevalent in all posts, and being an already-famous blogger, I’m sure you’ve noticed the same stellar quality in comments too.

Carrie Rubin – There’s only one way to say it; Carrie is an absolute pro, and her endorsement is a badge we should all wear with pride. Her insights into indie-publishing are particularly worth a look-in.

Speaker 7 – I’ve only been following Speaker 7 for a short while, but she is currently reading that Fifty Shades of Nonsense so that you don’t have to. It’s beyond refreshing to see somebody treat bad literature with the contempt it deserves; the contempt, indeed, that the author and publishing house obviously have for their readers. As well as this, she’s hilarious.

What a Silly Girl – If you enjoy my ramblings, firstly: thank you, and secondly, give the Silly Girl a try. You will find her loveable, salacious, candid, funny, and most importantly, needlessly analytical. Hi-five.

The Very Single Girl – A girl after my own heart; it seems many single people turn to WordPress to fill the void in their lives with the ramblings of strangers, and to convert our continuing gloom into humorous anecdotes for you romantically functional people to enjoy. This isn’t a very good plug is it?

Val’s The Vain’s World – I must admit, I had not expected someone who happily denotes themselves as ‘vain’ to be interesting, but Val is quite disarming in her casual charm.

Lace’s Life of Cards – I only discovered Lace’s blog this morning, but am already enjoying her irrepressible joie de vivre, as well as her (tarot influenced?) metaphor for this multifaceted existence we call life.

Joe’s Shitty Ideas – There’s an addictive mix of perplexity and contempt in these ever-worsening flashes of genius from the friend of a fool named Joe.

La Vie Selon Emily – Emily was one of my first blog chums, and as a linguistics student has a refreshingly playful way with words. She also helped me to come out of the Hipster closet, resplendent in my flannel shirt and figurative beard.

Stephanie’s Listful Thinking – She had me at ‘I believe that everything can be categorized and listed’. At the risk of sounding over-familiar, if more girls had her insatiable appetite for the meticulous, I’d be a happy man.

Subtle Kate – Another new acquaintance, but a welcome one. (Not that any new friends are unwelcome – the more the merrier! Come in, make yourselves at home.) Kate’s writing style is serene and breezy, which makes reading her darkest thoughts an absolute joy. I bet she’s in Australia now, holding a helium ballon with a smiley face on it and skipping merrily through a morgue.

If you don’t like Le Clown then you’re a fool.

57 thoughts on “Officially Lovely

    • Oooh, my first instinct is to go younger, but I think that might be because I ‘know’ how to do younger (or more specifically, what I would do differently!)

      On balance, I’d like to be about 27-28, for several reasons:

      I’d be old enough to have a fair amount of stability and a comfort-in-routine that I don’t have right now, I’d have enough of a start on a career to have options, should I want them, I’d be taken more seriously, not only as an individual with my wealth of life experience, but also as part of a consumer group (can you tell I work in marketing?). I’d also have (in theory) money to afford the majority of things that I want, and perhaps at that age there’s a little less hysteria amongst my peers and a little more companionship to relationships.

      On the other hand, I’d also still be young enough to change my course of life should I want to. If I had something unexpected come up I could deal with it, I’d be independent enough not to be stereotyped out of the dating game, I could still travel and work abroad, and I could drop the career without it being crippling. I’d like to move into writing comedy for TV, and hopefully by that age, I’ll be some ways towards that, if not already there.

      (He said, ignorant of what was to happen in the future that would make him look like a right plum-head in the past.)

  1. Reading this made me think about what in the Seven Internets I would write if someone ever asked me to represent Canada. My own mind is afraid.

    And yes. Every July 17th at noon (relative to your local timezone), we all get down to our skivvies and communally bathe in (real) maple syrup. Because we make it here.

    😉

    • My Dad lived in Nova Scotia for a while as a boy, and what he remembers most is totem poles and street hockey. I understand you have your milk in bags, which is exactly the right kind of bizarre.

      I’d be interested to hear what Canadians think of their representation to the world; there’s the obvious cruel example of South Park, but there’s also Scott Pilgrim, The Weakerthans and, unfortunately, Beiber. In fact, whilst we’re on the subject; REPRESENT CANADA. NOW.

      • Challenge accepted.

        And shall I defend Canada in a similar format to which you represented our Motherland? 😉

        *begins thinking of all seven points to be soon published in a blog*

        Also, unless one is Canadian, one does not understand exactly HOW Canadian Scott Pilgrim is; comics, or movie. And unless one knows Toronto, one REALLY does not understand HOW Toronto (specifically) Scott Pilgrim is. Bryan Lee O’Malley OWNS MY LIFE : |.

        (Example: In the movie, when they eat at Pizza Pizza [which is a real, Canadian pizza chain] across the street from Honest Ed’s [legendary Toronto discount store the size of a literal city block], I have been in Honest Ed’s, worked in a burger joint in the corner of that building directly across the street that you may even be able to see in-frame if it was there at that point, and I have eaten both at that Pizza Pizza, and have sat in that same booth. Should I also do a series of posts as a commentary on Scott Pilgrim and HOW Canadian/Torontonian it actually is for those that don’t live here? :). [actual question])

      • It’s a while since I’ve seen the film, but it did make Toronto seem hopelessly appealing. I’ve been looking for a reason to watch it again though, so this could be ideal. (God knows why I need a reason to watch a film…)

        It might be cool to see the film as a readable commentary, from someone whose life it impacts on so heavily. I would never have picked up on Pizza Pizza being a real place, let alone that the geography is accurate. It would be an immensely nerdy thing to do, but as Scott Pilgrim is already immensely nerdy it could be quite meta!

      • As they have varying fan bases, why not do both? I imagine the movie has a wider, but not necessarily as rabid fan base, so if you were to take stills from that, juxtapose those with panels of the books, then add your own twist as a fanatic it could be quite special.

        It could also be ridiculously hard work, and possibly the foundation of a dissertation.

      • ‘How Canadian IS Scott Pilgrim? An Internet Dissertation in Multiple Parts by Me’.

        We could be on to something here.

      • Also, totem poles are a thing (predominantly, if I remember correctly, of the Native tribes of the Pacific coast area); street hockey is a way of life. regardless the weather; and we totes have milk in bags. Shall I mail you a milk bag to confirm this strange item of which we behold?

      • Normally, I never turn down offers of milk, but I fear my flimsy anonymity would be compromised if I was to list my contact details on here.

        How about you leave a milk bag somewhere and if it’s gone when you return you’ll know I’ve picked it up, and that you have my eternal gratitude.

        (That’s a joke. Don’t waste milk, or all those cows would have died for nothing.)

      • Haha. Sounds splendid. Had I thought ahead, I could’ve given a friend of mine an empty milk bag to bring with him to London (his little sister’s on our Olympic team :).) and have him drop it somewhere, preferably wedged between some bricks or something of that sort.

        Like I’d try to ship a full milk bag across the Atlantic ocean. 😉

      • Wow, that’s pretty cool! Congratulations! Which events is she competing in?

        I’m not sure this does the ‘members of a nation automatically know every celebrity in that nation’ stereotype any favours though.

      • She’s in gymnastics. It’s pretty rad. 🙂

        And on note #2, because of some odd connections I have, I am probably a lot more likely to be able to answer a few derivatives of that very question than the average Canadian. Haha.

    • Black pudding is neither black, nor is it a pudding. It is a sausage-type foodstuff commonly served with a Full English cooked breakfast, and consists of oatmeal and various meat morsels boiled in pig blood until it’s thick enough to squeeze into a sausage membrane, where it is then cooked and sliced. It’s a similar in principle to the Scottish Haggis and the German Blutwurst.

      I’ve eaten it before, and thought it tasted alright; goes well with hash browns. However, upon researching, I will never eat it again. Cheers! 🙂

      • I think haggis is pretty killer with Tabasco sauce. Not kidding.

        (Context: I played snare in a pipe band for 4.5 years. Ergo, Every Robbie Burns…..free haggis. :).)

  2. Thanks Chris Biscuits! And just to clarify, I am no clairvoyant, the cards are more akin to Poker than Tarot. Hahaha.

    Question(s): Did you ever watch the show Coupling? If so, did you like it and were you just so sad when “Jeff” left??? Or am I just one of those Americans that likes British Shows that no Brits like?

    • No problem! I do like the imagery involved with making a Tarot set for each of your cards though, but that’s the designer me talking 😉

      Unfortunately I didn’t watch Coupling, although it’s been recommended to me multiple times (as reference to something I’m working on). It was finishing at around the time my interest in comedy was blossoming, and this is also the reason why I haven’t seen much of Seinfeld either, to my shame. I’ve heard Coupling is very good, and Steven Moffat has gone on to do amazing bits of writing for screen.

      It’s interesting to see which of our shows make it across the Atlantic; some get re-done for a new audience and some are shown faithfully. Takes all sorts, I suppose. 🙂

      • I agree with you that if the cards were to take a design they would resemble Tarot in the way that they would depict a scene so to speak. I have no design skill whatsoever, but I do have an imagination and I so wish that I could put pen to card and make something solid of the cards!

        I was a Coupling fanatic. I love Steven Moffat’s work in general and the show was so fresh and something new. It was known here as “The British Friends” and although I loved Friends, it didn’t have the gritty witty humour I love so much in Coupling. I was sad to see it come to an end, but without one of the main characters (my fave, Jeff) the show had lost something in its final season. I can not recommend this show enough to you. And I have a feeling you’ll love Jeff too.

        But, I have been a follower of several UK shows over the years. My love of British TV started the day my dad introduced me to Ponty Python… I was 10. I also have fond memories of watching “Are You Being Served” and “Keeping Up Appearances” when I was young and couldn’t sleep. A fave late night indulgence for my 10 year old self.

      • I will check it out at the first available opportunity. Moffat”s latest big hit is a reinvention of Sherlock Holmes, which I absolutely adore. It’s one of precious few programmes these days that does;t insult the audience’s intelligence…

        I too was weaned on Python, but my obsession began with The Day Today and Alan Partridge, The Office and Peep Show. I seem to enjoy things that border on tragedy! The Americas must be congratulated, because they’re doing sitcoms right at the minute, much better than we are; Arrested Development, Curb Your Enthusiasm, The American Office, Parks & Rec, Community, all great shows that work on many levels; a subtle intelligence to them all 🙂

      • SHERLOCK!!! Swoon! Love that show, my hubby and I are big fans.

        And the shows you listed are awesome as well. =) It seems we have similar tastes in telly!

  3. A&B,
    Congrats on the nominations, and kudos for nominating Carrie Rubin, one of my favourite bloggers…. which should make her everyone’s favourite blogger… Just sayin’. And of course, I read all way to the end and I see the Le Clown dude. He’s funny, and pretty. And he’s grateful to you, dear one, for the thought…

    Have you received the Alan Smithee Blog award yet? No?? Holy Crap! It’s the only award you need: http://clownonfire.wordpress.com/the-awards-circus/alan-smithee/
    Le Clown

    • Oh Le Clown, it’s an honour. If I may, I’d like to share with you some recent thoughts I’ve had.

      ‘Bloody Hell, I’m followed by Le Clown.’
      ‘Bloody Hell, Le Clown liked my post(s).’
      ‘Bloody Hell, Le Clown commented on said post(s).’
      ‘Bloody Hell, Le Clown has offered me his award.’

      I don’t intend to make a habit of this self-congratulatory, compliment-fishing traffic-grasping nonsense, and instead hope to use it as a platform for thanking some of my new chums for their input. That said, I applaud you for approaching these things with a healthy level of contempt. They’re like chain emails, or sexual transmitted viruses. Take one, pass ’em on.

      I had already read all about the Alan Smithee, and it is another prestigious honour, and one I will be sure to put on my CV. That’ll show ’em…

      • Chris,
        There was a time I was an award-whore-mongrel. But I have abandoned since these days the idea of being validated by such trophies. Instead, I have developed a gigantic ego which is its own validating system. Nothing says: Good job, Le Clown, like my own voice.
        Le Clown

  4. First of all, thanks so much for the nomination. The blogger award game is fun, isn’t it? They’re so rare, after all. 😉 You don’t really have to answer that question. But what I really want to know is, do you know the queen?…

    In all seriousness, I appreciate the award nod and your kind words about my blog. I believe I have that one already, but the recognition is always lovely. Thanks again!

    Oh, and for the record, I believe your country has also given us Jason Statham and Daniel Craig. I know we ladies are particularly grateful for that.

    • Well even the most cursory glance around the blogosphere shows these things to be a little ephemeral. Two of the awards have exact same criteria. I know because when I was writing this I forgot which one I was nominated for and had to google it, and that in itself speaks volumes.

      Thank you for accepting in the manner in which I intended; it’s a pleasantry with an image attachment, and it’s not like you don’t deserve it. It’s not about which ones/how many you have, it’s who awards them to you, and why.

      Ah yes, Jason Statham. What a versatile actor he is ;). I’ve got a lot of time for Craig though. I’d completely forgotten about films, I suppose we can claim Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Chaplin, Hitchcock, Ridley Scott etc.

      In answer to your question, I do not know the Queen. The nearest I can get, through degrees of separation, is that my friend Musical Adam’s lecturer did a free jazz arrangement of our National Anthem for Her Royal Highness, all odd noises and irregular time signatures. She hated it.

      • The nerve of her!

        And yes, Jason Statham is about as emotitive as our own Kristen Stewart. But he delivers a hard-to-match body count in his films…

      • Carrie, please don’t think you have to apologise for Kristen Stewart. Statham, for all his (meagre) faults, is actually an actor. Kristen Stewart is a travesty.

        And yes, he does have quite an impressive body…count.

  5. Such high praise and in such esteemed company. The recognition is greatly appreciated. As far as imported British talent, I have been a big fan of Richard Ayoade, since I first caught him in The IT Crowd a few years ago.

    • Why thank you. He’s excellent isn’t he? If you’re able to find it, he’s also in something called Garth Marenghi’s Darkplace, which is a satire on bad 80’s TV.

      Graham Linehan, the writer of the IT crowd also wrote Black Books and Father Ted, both of which are of legendary status over here.

      • THE GUY THAT WROTE THE IT CROWD WROTE FATHER TED!?!!

        OH MY F!)(@^)$%V)$(EW$%(V)W$VO%E)WO$^OU)$UOO!! *dies*

        The present knowledge of this launched the awesome-quotient of today into high score territory.

  6. Pingback: Would it be loverly? « Love Letters Are Dying

  7. I would like to begin by thanking you for this auspicious award, the nomination for which I am sure is unrelated to the fact that you were required to choose 15 blogs, which encompasses every single blog you read, plus 6 you don’t. Thank you.

    For the record, there are more than a few morons in America who not only ask Brits if they know the Queen, but ask Africans if they live in huts. I weep for the future of the country.

    When I think of England I think of Keeping Up Appearances, Dr. Who, My Fair Lady, Mary Poppins, and Love Actually. I would be overjoyed if I disembarked the plane and a man in a hat greeted me with, “Pip pip,” “Cheerio,” or “Gooday guvna.” However, when I speak to people who have actually lived in England, they say it’s dank, dreary, perpetually wet, and teeming with alcoholics. I can now add racist sports fans to the list. Thus, I have catalogued England under Nice Place To Visit, But I Wouldn’t Want To Live There. I suggest you all flee the country immediately and move to California. It is lovely, all bubbleheaded valley girls aside, and it would mean I’d have my pick of men with accents and large vocabularies. I emplore you, Chris. Round up your mates and hop on a plane. There may be another blog award in it for you! ; )

    • Your nomination was no accident, Silly Girl, I can assure you.

      I make a point of reinforcing as many positive British stereotypes as possible, so much so that they become habit. I now say ‘Blimey!’ as a reflex reaction.

      If you were to visit, you’d be most welcome. Our innate airs and graces would kick in and you’d be the guest of honour. The country only really holds grudges if you beat us at football or in a war.

      My view of California is an odd one; as Katy Perry has lead me to believe, the best thing about California is its female populace, with specific reference to how little clothes they wear. I’m not stupid enough for me to think that the entirety of the State are scantily clad bimbos – at least one of you is Arnold Schwarzenegger – but a certain type of person does seem to gravitate there. That said, for every ‘The O.C.’ there’s ‘Arrested Development’ and for every Katy Perry there’s a Silly Girl.

      If only all blog awards were as valuable as the one that’s only a plane ride away… I fear though, if we were to meet that I would disappoint you in ways you wouldn’t even think were possible. 😉 My back-up plan is to fly to the States, stand in the airport and just say things like ‘What larks!’ and ‘I daresay the America’s are quite charming’ and wait to be smothered in ladyfolk. Your faults don’t matter when you have novelty value!

      • If you have seen Love Actually you will recall the scene in which Colin Frizzle tells his friend that he is a Sex God destined to be mobbed by women – he’s just on the wrong continent. He is correct. Men become no less than 52% more attractive when they have foreign accents, and judging by a recent meeting with some Australian women it works with either gender. If you do make a trip to the states, bring a snorkel. I have only lived in CA for 5 months but Katy Perry seems to be correct about the plethora of thin, scantily clad women. I purchased a gym membership immediately.

      • You’re right about those attractiveness of those overseas, but I suppose by definition they’re unobtainable. I’ve never thought of myself, or Britain, as exotic before, what with the weather an’ all.

        Be right back, just off to buy a snorkel and plane ticket.

  8. Wow, took me 3.5 minutes to scroll down (you have alot of fans I see) so I could leave a Hello, Congrats and I’m tagging along for the ride over her Mr Biscuits!!!

    • I’m a lucky young man aren’t I? You’re more than welcome, and you can call me whatever you wish, although as I said, I will now be adding the retort ‘That’s MISTER Biscuits to you!’ to my argument lexicon.

  9. Pingback: In Defense Of Canada (or, I WON A AWARD! …TWICE!) « pause/delete/home

  10. Pingback: Conversation With a Friend | Anxiety & Biscuits

  11. I’m a huge fan of the british music scene! You know, One direction, Girls aloud, Spice girls… just kidding! The ones I love the most are The Clash, Sex Pistols, the Smiths and the Rolling Stones, I can’t stand the Beatles though. Nowadays you’ve got a great indie scene going on there.

    You don’t know the Queen? That’s disappointing… 😉

    • I would like you to know that whilst I laughed at your hilarious jape, the mention of One Direction made me want to spit.

      Our punk bands were amazing… We DID have quite a prominent ‘indie’ scene going on in 2006-08, in the form of jingly-jangly pop guitar bands with haircuts and regional accents. These days, the music I hear about promoted on various underground sources comes from the States in the form of small partnerships in folk and electronica and the like. What bands were you referring to, may I ask?

      Personally, right now I’m falling musically in love with the New York DIY punk scene and friends (Bomb The Music Industry!, Cheap Girls, Lemuria, Titus Andronicus, Laura Stevenson & The Cans etc.) a few bands on the Sargent House label (Fang Island! Woo!) and a few Canadian folk-punk bands, but I’m a bit odd.

      • How could I forget to mention Joy Division? Add that to my list of beloved english bands!

        From the indie scene I was talking about I would highlight Editors (their songs are huge!), Ash, The Horrors, White lies and The Ting Tings. However, between 06-08 I went through that jingly-jangly pop phase so it was mandatory that I loved Kaiser Chiefs (and their regional accents), Bloc Party, Artic Monkeys, Kasabian, etc etc. Until, one day I decided it was enough and I grew up haha

        These days I’m going back to basics and discovering the roots of the american punk, from Dead Boys, Iggy Pop, Patti Smith, New York Dolls, Stiff Little Fingers, to Pennywise, Descendents, L7 or Hüsker Dü. Lately my music taste is a little stuck in the past, but I also enjoy present bands like Circa Survive, Queens of the Stone Age or Interpol.

        Rock and punk are basically the genres I love the most, but it all depends on my mood. I can be listening to the Velvet Underground one minute and then change to Bikini Kill, for example.

        p.s. Cheap girls rock! Maybe it’s just me but sometimes, they remind me a little to Hüsker Dü…

      • My personal take on most of those bands is perhaps the opposite of yours, as a someone with an independent music taste will understand. For you, these might have been great finds, but over here they were all quite mainstream, and at the time I was rebelling like a mother-something.

        That said, I bought the first albums of almost all of them. I saw Editors live (his voice is great but the songs are a bit simple) supporting Franz Ferdinand, and I saw Kasabian live too. They’re from my hometown/village. One of their mums used to work in the store.

        Bloc Party’s first album is sublime, as is Arctic Monkeys, although I was screamed at by a rabid fan for it not being my favourite album ever, which was the moment I gave up on trying to like popular music. The Kaiser Chiefs, on the other hand, I am not particularly fond of. I have the first album, hell I even handed over actual currency for it, but the novelty wore off very quickly. Accents aren’t such an endearing thing over here, and the lead singer, Ricky Wilson, did a lot of very arrogant interviews that made him look like he thought he really was up there with the Ian Curtis’s and Jarvis Cocker’s.

        White Lies are great, as are, if you’ve heard of them, a similar sounding bad called Friendly Fires who are doing the rounds at the minute. I absolutely adore Bombay Bicycle Club and Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly, and The Cast of Cheers and Django Django aren’t half bad either.

        Now. Punk.

        I love that you like Cheap Girls. I’ve had ‘My Roaring Twenties’ on repeat for the last fortnight. Circa Survive are brilliant as well: that voice! Anthony Green is something…

        I grew up on, sadly, Less Than Jake, Bad Religion, NOFX, Descendents, Catch 22, Pennywise, Millencolin, Jimmy Eat World, etc. I had to get into a lot of the good actual punk stuff retroactively, I’m afraid, although I was deluged with The Clash and, oddly enough, The Police form a young age too. And goddammit Morrissey is a genius.

        I cannot recommend enough a fellow called Frank Turner; he’s punk as balls. His lyrics are just wonderful for anyone who grew up with this sort of stuff and then grew a bit older. And he slammed Nicki Minaj a week ago. Good on him.

      • Over here, in Spain, all those were called alternative bands and the opposite of what the top 40 radio stations were playing. (Now you’ve got an idea how awful mainstream music is here… )

        Righ now I’m trying to listen as much music as I can and thanks to pages like Last.fm I can discover a lot of actual underground and alternative bands nobody here have ever heard of and I couldn’t get to know any other way. Any recommendation will be welcomed! 🙂

        Frank Turner slammed Nicki Minaj? I’m going to give him a listen right away!

      • I imagine that mainstream stuff over there is either camp-as-tits Europop or really cool flamenco-flavoured stuff with SPanish guitars and trumpets and loads of hand percussion. Or is this horrifically racist?

        I find the best ways to find bands I might like is to see who is label-mates with who, or which bands tour together. Spotify helps a lot too.

        Frank Turner is a magical man, and Nicki ‘Not Her Real Name’ Minaj is an entitled idiot who dresses like a cross between a protractor set and shat-out Neapolitan ice-cream.

      • Music in Spain sucks! Not everything here is flamenco (a very common mistake, only in the south they listen to that kind of stuff), what people are into and gets played in the radio is either teenage pop rock bands even more pathetic than One Direction (imagine that…), the typical singer/songwriter that only knows how to sing about how much he/she loves/misses/hates someone and all the David Guettas, Rihannas and Pitbulls of the world.

        I’ve been listening to Frank Turner’s Poetry of Deed a lot since you mentioned it. I really like it! 🙂 I also discovered Mixtapes and Joyce Manor (but I suppose you already know them…)

      • Ah, David Guetta. The whitest man in the world…

        I feel it’s important that One Direction are themselves not evil, they’re far too stupid for that. The cleverest thing the music industry has done is to use artists as a front, and have people direct hatred at them, a facade, rather than the immoral, wicked people controlling it all. Rant over.

        I have Mixtapes’ Maps & Companions album (although it still deserves a proper listen) and their wonderful Castle Songs EP, which is a free download. Joyce Manor are cropping up a lot in various places in my life, so it’s only a matter of time before I hear them properly. I hear their latest effort was very well received.

        I’m really digging Lemuria’s ‘Pebble’ album at the minute, but apparently this opinion labels me as an Official Girl.

  12. Thank you! My reader has been stark lately, for some reason, the blogs I fell in love with a year ago have all teetered out in to silence and I’ve been mindlessly clicking through the web looking for new ones to read. I find that with no other blogs to read and bounce off, my own blog has suffered, I’ve lost inspiration and I’ve had to spend far too much time at work wondering how to fill my days here. Your list and short descriptions have been excellent, I have stuffed them all in to my reader and will take some time to get to know some new blogs. I also now feel a little bit like a stalker, for following everyone you follow. I’m not.

    • Thank you, you are more than welcome. Please don’t feel like a stalker, a stalker would probably not admit to being a stalker. (Unless it was a double bluff, in order to lower my guard so you can work out where I live hide in my bins or something)

      I hope myself and all the new blog follows can provide some inspiration!

Your thoughts are always welcome

