Admin – A Note of Absence

Last week my four year old MacBook finally gave up.

Although it may not have seemed like it, I was absent from these shores for about two weeks. I had some posts scheduled, and even managed to knock out out a quick one at work (not a euphemism), but I fear that this made me appear that whilst I was happy to publish my nonsense, I was not willing to actually interact with any of you.

This particular anxiety displays not only paranoia but also arrogance of the highest level; that I dare to assume that people are constantly checking up to see why I’m not reading their posts but posting my own. Perhaps they’ve worked out a ratio system. Perhaps there’s a graph.

There’s always a graph.

Anyway, whilst that might be a glaring example of mental instability, at heart it’s because I, like everyone else, seek the approval of my peers, and look forward to interacting with you all.1 I had all sorts of lovely emails from blog chums old and new that I was able to read but not respond to, and I’m going to do that right now.

I had a week with no digital designing work, no recreational writing, no internet browsing, and no iTunes. The Mac’s backlight went, so I didn’t lose any of the files, but they’re there, just below the surface, taunting me, like a fish with a bad attitude. I have instead shelled out on a new machine that I can’t realistically afford. It’s approximately eight times as good as the ol’ Macca, and I’ve just noticed upon signing in how vehemently purple my blog is. Sorry about that.

Here are some of the things I filled my unexpected free time offline with:

  • Read three books.
  • Counted out all my small change in my change jar and paid it in.
  • Did a bumload of sketching and storyboarding for both work and the sitcom-that-will-never-happen.
  • Cooked properly.
  • Sorted out my finances so that I could actually afford a new computer.
  • Orchestrated what began as ‘gardening’ but rapidly became ‘ant massacre’.
  • Watched the Tintin film – the opening sequence was awesome but if they want my five-star review they need to put Professor Calculus in it.
  • Talked to a very pretty girl in a book shop about Hemingway, Kerouac and the guy who wrote The Perks of Being a Wallflower which made me feel clever and attractive and debonaire, before sneaking off because I couldn’t afford any new books and a new Mac, which made me feel ashamed to have wasted her time.
  • Exercised properly.
  • Watched a lot of tennis and saw my cousin on the telly and in the papers because he was dressed in an enormous Union Jack.
  • Discovered that WordPress has an app that I could have been using all along.

1 People may say that they don’t care what people think about us, but if that was true people would be rude, nothing would get done and nobody would put anything up for review (e.g. blogging). Social convention and the disapproval of strangers keep egos in check, and anyone who truly doesn’t care what people think of them is an idiot.

25 thoughts on “Admin – A Note of Absence

  1. “[…] I fear that this made me appear that whilst I was happy to publish my nonsense, I was not willing to actually interact with any of you.”

    “Anyway, whilst that might be a glaring example of mental instability, at heart it’s because I, like everyone else, seek the approval of my peers, and look forward to interacting with you all.”

    “The Mac’s backlight went, so I didn’t lose any of the files, but they’re there, just below the surface, taunting me, like a fish with a bad attitude.”

    “Talked to a very pretty girl in a book shop about Hemingway, Kerouac and the guy who wrote The Perks of Being a Wallflower which made me feel clever and attractive and debonaire, before sneaking off because I couldn’t afford any new books and a new Mac, which made me feel ashamed to have wasted her time.”

    These are the kinds of lines that make me always enjoy reading your work. Something about them strikes me as being absolutely perfect captures of the idea, image, etc you’re trying to express.

    Welcome back!

      • I’ve come to realize that my problems tend to make me a better writer, or at least lead to more interesting writing. Maybe the same will be true for you?

    • Lux my friend, I’ve just discovered that somebody stumbled here by using the search term ‘Fish With Bad Attitudes iTunes’, which means that not only was it a successfully amusing set of words, it’s also a band.

      • That is my favorite search term in the entire world. Closely behind that is the fact that whoever searched for that ended up clicking on the link to your blog.

      • What I like is that all the members of Fish With Bad Attitudes must have got around a table at some point and said
        ‘Right, we need a name for out band.’
        ‘How about Fish With Bad Attitudes?’
        ‘Yeah that’ll do.’
        ‘Do you think people will take us seriously?’
        ‘It’s not about that, it’s about stringing together a set of words that are at once memorable and unique enough so that they’re easily google-able.’
        ‘What if some blog gump writes a post with a flippant joke in it, capturing our band name and thieving our traffic?’
        ‘That will never happen.’

      • I imagined a group of guys stoned out of their minds being like “Man… we’re like fish.”

        “Fish with bad attitudes”

        “DUUUUUUDE!”

      • I’m going to make a post just about some of my search terms; they make so much sense without making any sense at all.

      • “follow the breadcrumbs” and “lesbian erotica dana scully” are my favorites, I think.

        “how to write rough sex letters to a man” is pretty close though.

  2. I always pretend like people are checking on my blog when I’m not “there” because it makes me happier to think that 🙂 Call it fakenorance… or something! Glad you got a shiny new comp.

  3. I left “The book of Faces” (FB) last fall so I could accomplish all of these things that have been piling up in my Do before I die list.. I’m pleased to say in 9 months I have done 2 of the 300 items..
    I’m a tad envious you have a new Mac as I peck away on my Ruby-red Toshiba..
    I’m doubly impressed you read and entered a bookstore.. 🙂

    • Ah, the bucket list… I leave a trail of to-do lists wherever I go, and the last thing I need is to be reminded of my deadline.

      I am one of those people who legitimately need a Mac for proper work, and I can’t understand these people who buy one and then use it for spreadsheets. I don’t read even half as much as I ought to, but a bookstore is probably my favourite place to waste time; the atmosphere is welcoming and calm, it smells like paper and coffee, and everyone in there is either clever or has aspirations of being clever.

Your thoughts are always welcome

